demi's blog!

to build or to not build a saas

SaaS is everywhere. Almost every tech product is becoming a SaaS. It's tiring, but I get the appeal. Subscriptions sound fun, regular income and it's exciting to see someone invest in a tool you built.

As a developer, I have the skillset to build a given SaaS in a reasonable timeframe. And I seem relatively interested in it. So what's stopping me?

I don't think I'll find an idea worth building with my current mindset. I think I'm too scared of what the journey could become, that I'm trying to qualify the idea before I give the journey a chance.

Realistically, I'm young enough to take any given idea and build it, see what happens. If it flops, I don't lose much, I only gain. I don't have to do a 12 startups in 12 months thing, but I can definitely build a range of projects and just see how I feel.

I'll learn more from the journey when I'm in it, than I will when I'm looking at it from afar. The answer is, to build a saas.