demi's blog!

setting realistic constraints

Starting a new project comes with a lot of uncertainty. That uncertainty ignites excitement; not fully knowing what something could be, but being excitement by the potential of that.

However, that potential needs to be channelled somewhere. If it's left unlimited, you may find yourself seeking for "more" at the expense of being happy with what you have.

As I think about building a new project or side business, I'm considering the approach of setting realistic constraints on it. These could be anything, from how much time I want to invest a week, to how much money I'm willing to spend on it to get started.

Defining these constraints from the start will help with picturing what it could look like, without optimising for the obvious thing: income. More income isn't always the best thing.

My constraints for new projects include: