demi's blog!

on having something to do

I personally struggle in the times where there's nothing hugely specific that I have to do. I've been so used to defining my identity by what I accomplish each day, so when there's no task to do, I feel lost.

I think boredom would be more welcoming if we didn't feel the need to fill every empty space with an activity. Apparently boredom is what leads to the worlds greatest discoveries. Many artists get inspiration in idleness. I definitely get the coolest music ideas when I'm not composing.

But even if that doesn't happen, boredom is an essential part of the equation. It's one I think we are losing in our attention-driven world. Everything is constantly competing for attention in our brains, leaving less time for chance to strike. It's concerning, no?