demi's blog!

do i have to choose one thing?

Looking at successful people, a lot of them had one project that they worked on, and grew to bring them success. "Focusing on one thing is key" they say.

However, many of them tried quite a few things before finding the one thing to focus on. They needed to get their toes wet in different industries before finding the field they wanna double down on.

At the start of the entrepreneurial journey, these 2 things are true: You know the least and you're the least efficient. It's a lot more detrimental to spend all energy and focus on one thing, only for it to flop. At this stage, failing forward is ESSENTIAL.

I got so sucked into the "FIND ONE PROJECT" narrative that I was too scared to start anything, because I expected every project to be the one. Now, I realise that my 20s are the time to try a lot of things and see what happens.